July 17, 2006

  • Aidan’s Da-DEE

        When he was born, I named him after the two men I admired most in the world, but ever since the day he outran me with his little toy plastic golf club and teed off on the neighbors’ newly planted flowers before I could grab him, to me he’s been “THE KID.”  Permanently in quotes and all caps.

        As a little guy, he had a million dollar personality, the most infectious laugh in the universe, and more energy than 17 Energizer Bunnies on crack.

        As a bigger little guy, he NEVER once looked before he leaped.  And believe me, he leaped all OVER the place.  Sheesh!

        Plus, his sister and I had to watch "Pete's Dragon" so many times that I actually began to grow a bit fond of Helen Reddy.

        Then he got older and spent most of his teenage years trying his dammdest to make me stop loving him.

        And through the entire 25 years we lived together, he had the attention span of a gnat, the motivation of a trout, and the inane logic of a creative genius hell bent on self-destruction.

        Raising him was costly as hell.  It took the pigmentation right out of my hair, ground my back molars down to mere nubs, made deep crevices in my formerly smooth brow, caused my face to begin sliding off my skull, and stole my sleep away on more nights than I can count. 
       
        It also cost a lot in monetary terms to replace all the stuff he kept breaking -- including but not limited to approximately 24 telephones and several cars -- and for tuition times three at a college which he never attended long enough to earn even half a credit.

        But you know whut?  There really IS a God.  Because “THE KID” has grown up to be even cooler than the two guys I named him for.....and an absolutely AWESOME dad.  (Or Da-DEE, as Aidan always says with heartfelt glee.)

        Okay, so he still doesn’t wear socks.  But hey!  Socks are probably overrated anyway.

        And you know whut else?  Getting to see “THE KID” with his kid makes it worth all those fiery hoops he made me jump through.  Times ten.

    THE KID as Dad

Comments (13)

  • Awwww cute picture..... and yes, isn't it nice when they finally grow up and prove we knew what we were doing when we raised them?

  • That's wonderful.

  • "Getting to see “THE KID” with his kid makes it worth all those fiery hoops he made me jump through."

    Ain't it the truth, ain't it the truth! I only wish my eldest son lived closer, his daughter will be two in November.

    To see him wearin those sneakers without socks, as hot as it is! Whew!

    The humidity's so thick here you can lick it.

  • Wonderful story!  So glad you're back!

  • oh my gosh, how cute are they??  too cute for their own good..........that's how cute!

  • Awwww.....

    Welcome back!

  • Yay! Great to see you!  Totally related to how you describe your wonderful KID.    And the picture -- has to be one of the cutest pictures ever. 

  • Yay! Great to see you!  Totally related to how you describe your wonderful KID.    And the picture -- has to be one of the cutest pictures ever. 

  • I had to laugh all through this post..sounds just like my son, and he is expecting his first baby in Oct.....can't wait for those calls.."Mom do you know what 'My kid did today'?...LMBO..payback time..LoL

  • Feef! I'm so glad you're back! I loved this even though the story has already given me hope I dunno how many times. How nice to see THE KID with his BayBEE too. That's a really precious photo.

  • What a great story and a great picture! Socks really are over rated, I wear flip flops at least 6 months out of the year.

    ryc: We're thinking about dramamine for the dog. I'm actually in Kansas, yes, the other "K" state!?! Stars Hollow is only in Connecticut on the Gilmore Girls, I don't think it really exists?

  • Feh. Who needs socks.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment